other titles...

MUSIC FOR STOWAWAYS (2023 reissue)
  1. BEF Ident The Optimum Chant
  2. Uptown Apocalypse
  3. Wipe The Board Clean
  4. Groove Thang
  5. Music To Kill Your Parents By
  6. The Old At Rest
  7. Rise Of The East
  8. Decline Of The West
  9. A Baby Called Billy
  10. Honeymoon In New York
  11. BEF Indent


MUSIC FOR STOWAWAYS (2023 reissue)

  • 180g black lp

    Released: 12th May 2023


The first reissue of seminal early 1980's electronic recordings from the British Electric Foundation (BEF), aka HEAVEN 17 / ex-THE HUMAN LEAGUE's Martyn Ware and Ian Craig Marsh, with Adi Newton (CLOCK DVA / THE FUTURE), and John Wilson (HEAVEN 17), originally a cassette-only release (1981).

This music was among the first recorded by Martyn and Ian directly after their departure from The Human League. Some tracks had evolved from other recordings they were working on at the time, such as 'Groove Thang' - an instrumental version of the debut single by Heaven 17 - and 'The Old At Rest', which derived from a version of 'Wichita Lineman' by Jimmy Webb, their very first recording with Glenn that would subsequently appear on B.E.F.'s 'Music of Quality and Distinction, Volume One' covers album in 1982