other titles...

Steps / Leak Your Own Blues
  1. Intro / It Happens
  2. Sore Eyes
  3. Sister You Said
  4. Red Hands
  5. Steps
  6. Fucktoy
  7. Lately Leaving
  8. Wet Dream
  9. Blue
  10. Always A Corner

Sarah Meth

Steps / Leak Your Own Blues

Slow Dance Recordings
  • limited blue lp (pre-order)

    Expected Release: 1st Dec 2023


Musically, 'STEPS' EP dips colour into the noirish, shadowy hues of her 'Leak Your Own Blues' EP.

It recalls, in part, the instinctive rawness of early Cat Power recordings, with a loose, lo-fi charm that portrays Sarah’s words with emphasis, feeling and meaning. 'STEPS' is the Londoner’s third EP and features six new tracks that recollect her personal, painful experiences of sexual trauma, albeit painted and portrayed with unexpected splashes of colour, character, and Sarah’s ability to own those disturbing experiences through her own strength and power. She explains further: “Grimes’ album ‘Visions’ inspired me to make a project like 'STEPS'. Both sonically and practically, being made through playing with synth-y sounds on her laptop. I was also inspired by the way she spoke about her song 'Oblivion'. She went through similar assaults and said “I took a typically violent cultural situation and made it pop and happy.’ Which was the natural reaction I had too, toying with sounds and songwriting styles that were new for me. I hope this project can make people feel seen in what they relate to from it, or in a non-threatening way, gauge people to ask questions of themselves upon listening.”