Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

The Charlatans

A Head Full Of Ideas (vinyl boxset edition)

Then Records

very limited transparent blue vinyl (5lp + exclusive 7") boxset + exclusive ***signed*** poster + 12 page fan booklet - 1 per customer

Released: 15th Oct 2021


A heaving collection of Burgess & Co’s best eras (that’s every era btw) plus a slew of unmissable live performances to tickle your fancy.

A 30th anniversary tour & a career spanning best of. 

THE CHARLATANS proudly announce their (Covid) delayed release of their 30th Anniversary tour and a 6 vinyl LP Box Set. Released on Then Recordings through Republic Of Music, ‘A Head Full Of Ideas’ is a five album, and exclusive 7”, career-spanning box set that sums up their remarkable progress from 1990 Manchester scene hopefuls to one of the UK’s most enduring and best-loved bands. The accompanying tour begins at Belfast, Limelight 22/11/21 and finishes in Aberdeen on 20/12/21. The band have notched up 13 Top 40 studio albums - three of them number ones - alongside 22 hit singles, four of them top 10. The rollercoaster highs have been accompanied by some shattering lows, any which one of them could have felled a less resilient band, from nervous breakdowns to near bankruptcy and the deaths of two founder members. Somehow, they have not just carried on but adapted and transformed. The classic Charlatans sound - driving Hammond organ, Northern Soul and house-influenced rhythms, swaggering guitars and Tim Burgess’s sunny yet somehow yearning vocal - is instantly recognisable. And in spite of everything they have been through their music is now more relevant than ever, The Guardian described their last album, Different Days as “one of their best ever”. This limited box set, is a diverse collection portrayed over five Transparent blue vinyl LP’s, spanning their hits, classic live performances, unheard demo’s and rarities and remixes. Within the box will also be an exclusive Original Demo’s 7” featuring ‘Indian Rope’/’The Only One I Know’, as well as a signed print of a tour poster from the early 90’s, a booklet featuring unseen photographs and sleeve notes by friend and journalist Dave Simpson. Their iconic and hugely adored live track One To Another (circa 1997) provides the titles for the individual vinyl collection within the box set. Each piece of vinyl is named after a lyric from the song.

A Head Full Of Ideas (vinyl boxset edition)





A1) The Only One I Know

A2) Weirdo

A3) Can’t Get out of Bed

A4) Jesus Hairdo

A5) Just When You’re Thinking Things Over

A6) North Country Boy

B1) Tellin’ Stories

B2) One to Another

B3) How High

B4) Impossible

B5) Forever

C1) Love is the Key

C2) A Man Needs to be Told

C3) Up at The Lake

C4) Blackened Blue Eyes

C5) Oh Vanity

D1) My Foolish Pride

D2) Come Home Baby

D3) Let the Good Times be Never Ending

D4) Plastic Machinery

D5) Totally Eclipsing




A1) Polar Bear (Blackburn, King Georges Hall. November 1990 - BBC Radio 1)

A2) Indian Rope (Reading Festival 1992 - BBC Radio 1)

A3) Can’t Even Be Bothered (Reading Festival 1992 - BBC Radio 1)

A4) Can’t Get Out of Bed (Glasgow Tramway, Sound City 1994 - BBC Radio1)

A5) I Never Want an Easy Life (If Me and Him Were Ever to Get There) (Glasgow Tramway, Sound City 1994 - BBC Radio1)

B1) Then (Glastonbury Festival 1995 - BBC Radio 1)

B2) Here Comes a Soul Saver (Hultsfred Festival, Sweden 1997)

B3) My Beautiful Friend (Delamare Forest, Cheshire 2007)

B4) The Blind Stagger (Delamare Forest, Cheshire 2007)

B5) Sproston Green (Reading Festival 1999 - BBC Radio 1)




A1) C’mon C’Mon (Demo Version)

A2) Sleepy Little Sunshine Boy (Desk Mix Version)

A3) Dardanella (Demo Version)

A4) So Oh (Demo Version)

A5) Always on my Mind (Demo Version)

B1) Everybody Ha Ha (Demo Version)

B2) Commuter Computer (Demo Version)

B3) Crystal Eyes (Demo Version)

B4) Polar Bear (Demo Version)

B5) I Need You To Know (Demo Version)




A1) Plastic Machinery (Sleaford Mods Remix)

A2) Nine Acre Dust (Chemical Brothers Remix)

A3) So Oh (Brian Jonestown Massacre Remix)

A4) Tellin’ Stories (The Go! Team Remix) **unreleased**

B1) Trouble Understanding (Norman Cook Remix)

B2) My Beautiful Friend (Jagz Kooner Remix)

B3) Hey Sunrise (The Orb Remix) **unreleased**

B4) You’re So Pretty, We’re So Pretty (Lo Fidelity Allstars Remix)




A1) Indian Rope (Demo)

AA1) The Only One I Know (Demo)