other titles...

Katherine Priddy

The Pendulum Swing

*signed* limited transparent green lp - £25.99 | Buy
*signed* cd - £13.99 | Buy
With a voice like a coastal breeze dancing through a sea arch, Priddy beckons us into her folk-strewn world with the gently welcoming, finger-picked, atmosphere...

See also...


THE STAND IN (10th Anniversary) (RSD 24)

Record Store Day 2024 - 140g Translucent Red LP - £27.99 | Buy
Names Records are delighted to present this highly sought after vinyl release for RSD 2024.
The Eternal Rocks Beneath
  1. Indigo
  2. Wolf
  3. About Rosie
  4. Icarus
  5. Eurydice
  6. Letters From A Travelling Man
  7. The Spring Never Came
  8. Ring O’roses
  9. The Isle Of Eigg
  10. The Summer Has Flown

Katherine Priddy

The Eternal Rocks Beneath

  • very limited black lp (250 only)

    Released: 24th May 2024

  • CD

    Released: 25th Jun 2021


Priddy’s haunting vocals, rich harmonies, distinctive finger picking and enchanting songwriting have left us breathless and quite covered in goose bumps.

She has been championed by BBC Radio 2 and BBC 6 Music and her debut EP ‘Wolf’ was chosen by Richard Thompson as his ‘Best Thing I’ve Heard All Year’ in MOJO Magazine in 2018. With the buzz around her building, Priddy is making her mark in 2021 with the release of an eagerly-anticipated debut album, The Eternal Rocks Beneath, which is set to bring her to even wider notice. The 10 self-penned tracks are delivered with a maturity and depth that belie the fact that this is her first full length release. At times tender, at times carrying a darker edge, the stories she weaves are transporting. Not surprising then that Nick Drake, John Martyn, Tunng and Scott Matthews are amongst her many influences. The album was recorded over a 2-year period at Rebellious Jukebox studios, a little basement studio hidden beneath inner-city Birmingham and presided over by masterful producer Simon Weaver.

The ensemble cast of musicians, including a sweeping string section, occasionally cut through by raw electric guitar and drums, as well as Richard March (Pop Will Eat Itself) on double bass and Mikey Kenny on fiddle, enhance Priddy’s command of melody and lyricism and provide the perfect backdrop for the feelings of nostalgia and timelessness that underpin the record. Many of the songs were written during Priddy’s teenage years and early twen[1]ties and reference themes of childhood and distant memories. The charming bird song that begins the first track “Indigo” and closes the final track “The Summer Has Flown” harks back to the soundtrack to her own childhood, when days began and ended with the sound of a blackbird in the tree outside her window. In the same way, it now bookends this chapter of Priddy’s life and music career. The title “The Eternal Rocks Beneath” reflects this is Priddy’s first album; the culmination of her earlier life experiences and the bedrock for whatever follows next.

‘Best Thing I’ve Heard All Year’ – Richard Thompson (MOJO)