Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Julian Cope & The Teardrop Explodes

Cold War Psychedelia


CD (pre-order)

Expected Release: 3rd Sep 2021


limited lp

Released: 16th Jul 2021


this generous collection of almost entirely previously unreleased Teardrop gold dust has brought tears to eyes! A must for any self-respecting cope / teardrop fan.

Exhilarating! Dynamic! 1982 music from the Death Throes of Liverpool’s maddest band. 42 minutes of it, and nearly all previously unreleased. Instrumentals, mostly, plus fragile earworms from a very distant time. Also check out Side 2’s tumbling musical collage taken from the same 1982 recording sessions – this time, however, they are overladen with Cope’s earliest autobiographical attempts. Yes, herein are contained 1989’s Head-On reflections: spoken word delivered over a mysterious and distinctively Teardrop Explodes Post-Punk sound. Clad in appropriately intriguing packaging? U-Betcha! ‘Doesn’t feature Reward-type hits anywhere herein’!

Cold War Psychedelia


  1. That’s Where I’m Coming From
  2. Ned Kelly Dawn
  3. Straight Rain
  4. Krankenhaus: Joker’s Birthday Duck Hunt
  5. Grow Your Hair
  6. Charles XII Of Sweden
  7. You Think It’s Love 82
  8. Unsafe At Any Speed
  9. The Emotional Jungle
  10. Tiny Children
  11. Dave Balfe, What’s Got Into You 8 You Disappear From View