Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


English Black Boys (2021 reissue)

factory benelux

very limited (500 only) 180g lp + download

Released: 15th Oct 2021


Digitally remastered by Peter Beckmann in 2021, this 7 track vinyl edition includes both sides of the Factory single as well as 5 album demos recorded in 1980.

For optimum sound quality the album is pressed on 180 gsm vinyl. The vinyl inner bag contains sleeve notes by former manager Martin Dunlop, along with archive images including previously unseen shots from the Moonlight Club show on 4 April 1980 by Peter Anderson. Manchester reggae band X-O-Dus are best known for their single English Black Boys, produced by Dennis ‘Blackbeard’ Bovell and released on Factory Records (Fac 11) in February 1980. This remastered compilation collects together 7 of their best tracks and is limited to 500 copies on 180 gsm vinyl (plus digital copy) Talent-spotted by Joy Division manager Rob Gretton, X-O-Dus performed at live events such as Zoo Meets Factory Halfway (August 1979) and Factory By Moonlight (April 1980). In time-honoured Factory fashion Fac 11 was released almost a year late, being the only reggae record to appear in a sleeve designed by Peter Saville.

English Black Boys (2021 reissue)


  1. English Black Boys
  2. See Them A’ Come
  3. Take It From Me
  4. Society
  5. Leaders
  6. Imagine
  7. If You Want My Lovin’