Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


Themes From William Blake's The Marriage Of Heaven & Hell (2021 reissue)



Released: 3rd Sep 2021



Released: 3rd Sep 2021


Having been known for their more folklore-tinged black metal compositions on early studio releases, in late 1997, mainman Kristoffer Rygg invited keyboardist, sound conceptualist, and composer Tore Ylwizaker into the collective, and together they devised a plan for The Blake Album; an altogether far more adventurous endeavour than prior releases.

What resulted was a seamless integration of electronic & industrial music, with elements of progressive metal & avantgarde rock, all fused with ambient passages, & following Blake’s plates as track indexes. A work of deep and personal art, the album, while initially surprising to fans due to its complete shift in genre, has become a classic today, and a prime example of the boundary-pushing evolution beyond the confines of genre expectations through the latter part of the 90’s. Upon release, ‘The Marriage of Heaven & Hell’ received widespread acclaim from critics within the rock, metal & alternative music press, being awarded Album of the Month in several high-profile magazines such as Terrorizer, Metal Hammer, and Rock Hard. The album notably includes guest vocal appearances from Darkthrone’s Fenriz, as well as Ihsahn & Samoth; most known for their work in Emperor.

Themes From William Blake's The Marriage Of Heaven & Hell (2021 reissue)


  1. The Arguments, Plate 2
  2. Plate 3
  3. Plate 3, Following
  4. The Voice Of The Devil, Plate 4
  5. Plates 5-6
  6. A Memorable Fancy, Plates 6-7
  7. Proverbs Of Hell, Plates 7-10
  8. Plate 11
  9. Intro
  10. A Memorable Fancy, Plates 12-13
  11. Plate 14
  12. A Memorable Fancy, Plate 15
  13. Plates 16-17
  14. A Memorable Fancy, Plates 17-20
  15. Intro
  16. Plates 21-22
  17. A Memorable Fancy, Plates 22-24
  18. Intro
  19. A Song Of Liberty, Plates 25-27
  20. Chorus Vocals