other titles...

See also...



LP + download - £22.99 | Buy
Montreal trio Lungbutter serves up an exhilarating and relentless barrage of astringent noise-punk, at times refracted variously through sludge rock and slowcor...
Power is the Pharmacy
  1. Power Is The Pharmacy (Teeth)
  2. All The Sad And Loving People
  3. Work That Superficially Looks Like Leisure
  4. The Dancer
  5. Revolving Door
  6. Listen! Avoid Magic! Be Aware!
  7. Dragons
  8. Elvin Silverware
  9. The Replacement

ky (lungbutter)

Power is the Pharmacy

  • 180g lp + download (pre-order)

    Expected Release: 12th May 2023

  • cd (pre-order)

    Expected Release: 12th May 2023


Ky is the new “solo” project of Ky Brooks, best known as vocalist/lyricist of noise trio Lungbutter and a slew of other Montréal-based out-music projects like 8-person queer punk band Femmaggots and experimental/improv trio Nag.

Power Is The Pharmacy is an album of cerebral and visceral artpunk “mainly about grief, death, the fear of loss, losing dreams, losing youth, people, public space, ultimately oneself” an emotionally electrifying collection of songs fuelled by Ky’s piercing poetry, both spoken and sung, delivering an incisive blend of socio-political observation and spiritual sadness, swirling through vortices of disenchantment and re-enchantment.

RIYL: Hyd, Sub Rosa, Nadah El Shazly, Ben Shemie, NGHTCRWLR, Holobody, Ruby Blue-era Roísín Murphy, Big Science-era Laurie Anderson.