other titles...

William Doyle

Slowly Arranged: 2016-2019 (2024 Repress)

very limited white 4lp boxset (300 only) - £31.99 | Buy
It’s nearing a decade since William Doyle released his Mercury Music Prize nominated debut album, 'Total Strife Forever', as East India Youth in 2...
William Doyle

Near Future Residence (2024 Repress)

lp - £11.99 | Buy
'Near Future Residence' is music for an imagined place based on real ideas; the soundtrack for an ecologically sustainable housing development somewhere...
William Doyle

The Dream Derealised (2024 Repress)

lp - £11.99 | Buy
A collection of nine abstract, lo-fi pieces that were recorded during the summer of 2016, when focusing on creating them helped guide Doyle through a “dif...
William Doyle

Springs Eternal

cd - £13.99 | Buy
Doyle's latest is a revelation of bucolic electro-acoustic pop wonderment - he might have swapped his muddy boots for something more dancefloor appropriate ...
William Doyle

Great Spans of Muddy Time

limited 'pelican white' lp - £19.99 | Buy
An elegiac treatise on letting go, a wobbly pop masterpiece & quite likely the only album on this list inspired by Monty Don.
Lightnesses I & II (2024 Repress)
  1. Aisles of White
  2. Number of Harmony
  3. History of Change
  4. Winter of Fullness

William Doyle

Lightnesses I & II (2024 Repress)

Tough Love Records
  • 2lp

    Released: 23rd Feb 2024


'Lightnesses Vol I & II' sees Doyle create what we might understand as true ambient music – that is, music intended for the background that wasn’t composed as such but allowed to blossom out of the setting of some rules and parameters, played by sounds he created and then resampled.

The deceptively simple, droning pieces are unlike anything Doyle has made before or since. “During their creation I’d often take photographs of the light coming in through the windows of the two houses I lived in during their creation. I’d post these on social media and they became quite popular parts of my output. This music was intended to accompany those visuals