Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

David Bowie

who can I be now? (1974 - 1976)


12cd boxset with 128 page book

Released: 23rd Sep 2016


out of stock

13lp boxset with 84 page book

Released: 23rd Sep 2016


comprehensive bowie box set including the never before released ‘The Gouster’, this is a must-have for any self-respecting Bowie aficionado.

The follow-up to the incredible ‘FIVE YEARS (1969 – 1973)’, this features all of the material officially released by Bowie during the so-called ‘American’ phase of his career. The collection includes ‘DIAMOND DOGS’, ‘DAVID LIVE’ (in original & 2005 mixes), ‘YOUNG AMERICANS’ & ‘STATION TO STATION’ (in original & 2010 mixes) as well as ‘THE GOUSTER’ – previously unreleased as a complete album – ‘LIVE NASSAU COLISEUM 76’ & a new compilation entitled ‘RE:CALL 2’, which is a collection of single versions & non-album b-sides.

*** *** *** ***

Exclusive to the box set is ‘THE GOUSTER’, which was recorded at Sigma Sound, Philadelphia in 1974 & produced by Tony Visconti. The album was mixed & mastered before David decamped to New York to work with John Lennon & Harry Maslin on what became the ‘YOUNG AMERICANS’ album. ‘THE GOUSTER’ contains three previously unreleased mixes of ‘Right’, ‘Can You Hear Me’ & ‘Somebody Up There Likes Me’. For the 2016 release, Tony Visconti has overseen the mastering from the original tapes & photos taken by Eric Stephen Jacobs have been put together for the sleeve based on one of David’s original concepts for the album. Also exclusive to the box set will be the remastered ‘DAVID LIVE (original mix)’, the 2010 Harry Maslin mix of ‘STATION TO STATION’ (previously only available on an audio only DVD in 5.1 & stereo as part of the ‘STATION TO STATION’ Deluxe box set in 2010) & ‘RE:CALL 2’. ‘RE:CALL 2’ features the original single mix of ‘Rebel Rebel’, which has only featured on a 40th anniversary picture disc in 2014 since its original release on single in 1974, & a previously unreleased on CD Australian single edit of ‘Diamond Dogs’, the only place in the world that this edit was issued. Also appearing on CD for the first time is the single edit of the live version of ‘Rock ‘n’ Roll With Me’, which was issued to radio stations in the U.S. to help promote the ‘DAVID LIVE’ album. ‘RE:CALL 2’ features newly originated artwork with 1975 in-studio images from the ‘STATION TO STATION’ recording sessions by David’s friend & backing vocalist Geoff MacCormack aka Warren Peace. The alternative cover for the 2010 mix of ‘STATION TO STATION’ by Harry Maslin, features the originally intended colour sleeve for the album that never got further than a few colour proofs & was replaced by the more familiar black & white image. The box set’s accompanying book will feature rarely seen & previously unpublished photos by photographers including Eric Stephen Jacobs, Tom Kelley, Geoff MacCormack, Terry O’Neill, Steve Schapiro, & many others as well as historical press reviews & technical notes about the albums from producers Tony Visconti & Harry Maslin.***





who can I be now? (1974 - 1976)



Released on RCA APLI 0576 (U.K.) / CPLI 0576 (U.S.) on 31st May, 1974.

  1. Future Legend
  2. Diamond Dogs
  3. Sweet Thing
  4. Candidate
  5. Sweet Thing (Reprise)
  6. Rebel Rebel
  7. Rock ‘n’ Roll With Me
  8. We Are The Dead
  9. 1984
  10. Big Brother
  11. Chant Of The Ever Circling Skeletal Family


Released on RCA APL2 0771 (U.K.) / CPL2-0771 (U.S.) on 29thOctober, 1974.

David Live was culled from performances on the 8th, 9th, 10th11th and 12th of July, 1974 at the Tower Theater, Philadelphia.

  1. 1984
  2. Rebel Rebel
  3. Moonage Daydream
  4. Sweet Thing/Candidate/Sweet Thing (reprise)
  5. Changes
  6. Suffragette City
  7. Aladdin Sane
  8. All The Young Dudes
  9. Cracked Actor
  10. Rock ‘n’ Roll With Me
  11. Watch That Man
  12. Knock On Wood
  13. Diamond Dogs
  14. Big Brother
  15. The Width Of A Circle
  16. The Jean Genie
  17. Rock ‘n’ Roll Suicide


Previously unreleased as a complete album.

  1. John, I’m Only Dancing (Again) – not on ‘Young Americans’, first released as a single in 1979 to promote the ‘Changestwobowie’ compilation.
  2. Somebody Up There Likes Me – alternative early previously unreleased mix
  3. It’s Gonna Be Me – not on ‘Young Americans’, first released as a bonus track on the EMI/Ryko edition of ‘Young Americans’ in 1990. An alternative mix with strings was released on the 2007 EMI edition of ‘Young Americans’.
  4. Who Can I Be Now? - not on ‘Young Americans’, first released as a bonus track on the EMI/Ryko edition of ‘Young Americans’ in 1990.
  5. Can You Hear Me – alternative early previously unreleased version.
  6. Young Americans – same version that ended up on ‘Young Americans’.
  7. Right – alternative early previously unreleased version.


Released on RCA RS 1006 (U.K.) / AQL1-0998 (U.S.) on 7thMarch, 1975.

  1. Young Americans
  2. Win
  3. Fascination
  4. Right
  5. Somebody Up There Likes Me
  6. Across The Universe
  7. Can You Hear Me
  8. Fame


Released on RCA APL1 1327 on 23rd January, 1976.


First released on EMI BOWSTSD 2010 in 5.1 and in stereo at 48kHz/24bit on the DVD format within the Station To Station deluxe set on 20th September, 2010.

  1. Station To Station
  2. Golden Years
  3. Word On A Wing
  4. TVC 15
  5. Stay
  6. Wild Is The Wind


Recorded live at the Nassau Coliseum Uniondale, NY, U.S.A., 23rd March, 1976. Released on EMI BOWSTSD 2010 within the Station To Station deluxe set on 20th September, 2010

  1. Station To Station
  2. Suffragette City
  3. Fame
  4. Word On A Wing
  5. Stay
  6. Waiting For The Man
  7. Queen Bitch
  8. Life On Mars?
  9. Five Years
  10. Panic In Detroit
  11. Changes
  12. TVC 15
  13. Diamond Dogs
  14. Rebel Rebel
  15. The Jean Genie


Non Album Singles, Single Versions and B-Sides.


  1. Rebel Rebel (original single mix)
  2. Diamond Dogs (Australian single edit)
  3. Rebel Rebel (U.S. single version)
  4. Rock ‘n’ Roll With Me (live - promotional single edit)
  5. Panic In Detroit (live)
  6. Young Americans (original single edit)
  7. Fame (original single edit)
  8. Golden Years (original single version)
  9. Station To Station (original single edit)
  10. TVC 15 (original single edit)
  11. Stay (original single edit)
  12. Word On A Wing (original single edit)
  13. John, I’m Only Dancing (Again) (1975) (single version)