Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

David Bowie

VH1 STORYTELLERS (2019 reissue)


limited 180g 2lp

Released: 11th Oct 2019


On the 23rd of August 1999, David Bowie played an intimate set for invited guests at The Manhattan Centre’s Grand Ballroom in New York for the VH1 Storytellers series.

Ten years later in 2009 a CD/DVD/Download of the evening was released, and now 20 years on the most complete version available will be released as a strictly limited-edition double vinyl LP. The Bowie set has long been regarded as one of the most memorable episodes in VH1 Storytellers history, with David delving deep in to his catalogue to perform tracks such as ‘Can’t Help Thinking About Me’ for the first time in 33 years, Aladdin Sane’s ‘Drive-In Saturday' which he had not performed since 1974 and ‘Word On A Wing’ which received its first outing in 23 years. Bill Flanagan, Executive Producer of the VH1 Storytellers “We were used to dealing with legendary musicians. Still, landing David Bowie was more than a big booking. There's no way to say this without being corny: it was an honour. Bowie has a unique place in rock & roll. He is not only one of the most influential musicians of the era, he does nothing unless he is fully committed”.

VH1 STORYTELLERS (2019 reissue)

  1. Life On Mars?
  2. Rebel Rebel (truncated)
  3. Thursday's Child
  4. Can't Help Thinking About Me
  5. China Girl
  6. Seven
  7. Drive-In Saturday
  8. Word On A Wing
  9. Survive*
  10. I Can't Read*
  11. Always Crashing In The Same Car*
  12. If I'm Dreaming My Life*