Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Bonnie 'Prince' Billy

Singer’s Grave A Sea Of Tongues

Domino Records

ultra ltd deluxe edition lp + 12" EP

Released: 29th Sep 2014


out of stock


Released: 20th Sep 2014



Released: 20th Sep 2014


out of stock

something of an odd release from the insanely prolific mind of will oldham - 9 of the 11 songs here are reworked versions of songs from his 2011 release 'Wolfroy Goes to Town' (along with that record’s accompanying b-sides).

in pretty much anyone else's hands, this would have seemed like an extremely lazy concept for a new record but thankfully, here we are dealing with a master & as such, the reworkings of his songs are almost unrecognisable. "'Wolfroy' was a slow, stark record;.....[here] Oldham recruited gospel singers the McCrary sisters & Chris Scruggs (grandson of Earl) on mandolin & ukulele. The result is a fuller, slicker & more ornate take on the songs, incorporating various strains of Southern musics" - pitchfork.

***ultra limited deluxe edition lp comes with the 'Barely Regal' 12" EP ***


Singer’s Grave A Sea Of Tongues


  1. Night Noises
  2. So Far And Here We Are
  3. There Will Be Spring
  4. Quail And Dumplings
  5. We Are Unhappy
  6. It’s Time To Be Clear
  7. Whipped
  8. Old Match
  9. Mindlessness
  10. Mew Black Rich (Tusks)
  11. Sailor’s Grave A Sea Of Sheep

Limited deluxe version :

  1. Barely Regal
  2. That's My Kind Of Night
  3. Better Than I Used To Be
  4. Let Me Love You
  5. There Are Worse Things I Could Do
  6. Loving You Is Fun
  7. Die Young
  8. Take Care
  9. I'm On My Way Home Again