other titles...

Gruff Rhys

Sadness Sets Me Free

LP - £22.99 | Buy
Limited Blackberry Neo-Neapolitan Coloured LP in Split Door Sleeve - £28.99 | Buy

CD w/ pull-out poster - £12.99 | Buy
Whilst this aural spectacle is far grander in scale & sonic opulence than recent outings, that same “Gruff-y” knack for populating his songs wit...
Gruff Rhys

Seeking New Gods

limited dark green lp housed in Mountain Die-Cut Envelope Style Sleeve w/ Belly Band - £21.99 | Buy
cd - £10.99 | Buy
Gruff set out to write a biography of Mount Paektu (an active Asian volcano) & although you’ll learn little in geological terms, he somehow manages to...
Gruff Rhys


cd - £9.99 | Buy
good gruff, what a record! Our super furry boy has made a sensational welsh-language album chock full of electronically enhanced, wigged out folk-pop.

See also...

Super Furry Animals

Radiator (20th Anniversary Remaster)

2 CD - £11.99 | Buy
on its 20th anniversary, the acclaimed Welsh indie rockers’ seminal 2nd album ‘Radiator’ gets the remaster it deserves.
Das Koolies (super furry animals)

The Condemned EP

very limited white 12" ep - £16.99 | Buy
these Hit-writing anti-icons, minus gruff rhys, emerge to explode three decades of digression as Super Furry Animals with their electronic depth-charge debut EP...
Super Furry Animals

Rings Around The World (20th Anniversary Edition)

180g 2lp - £31.99 | Buy
3cd - £18.99 | Buy

cd - £11.99 | Buy
After initially running rings around our heads with their wildly eclectic 5th album, it then looped in our ears and tied knots around our hearts – in shor...
The Almond & The Seahorse (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)


  1. Skyward
  2. The Brain And The Body
  3. People Are Pissed
  4. Layer Upon Layer
  5. Orea
  6. Joe's Theme
  7. Sunshine And Laughter Ever After
  8. Variation With Strings
  9. Amen
  10. Low Cello
  11. Liberate Me From The Love Song
  12. Love Love Love
  13. I Want My Old Life Back
  14. Forest Waltz
  15. Dance All Your Shadows To Death
  16. Library To Kiss
  17. Staccato With Cello
  18. Small Talk
  19. Toni’s Theme
  20. Ffenestr
  21. Penbedw
  22. Arogldarth

Gruff Rhys

The Almond & The Seahorse (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)

Rough Trade Records
  • limited foil numbered transparent yellow 2lp + fold-out film poster

    Released: 24th Feb 2023


Good grief Gruff’s spiffy riffs have got us going! Here’s a jubilant, whimsical double album of pure songwriting class, written for the film of the same name.

 Recorded between 2021-2022 with a host of featured musicians including members of the National Orchestra of Wales, the music features throughout the forthcoming film of the same name, starring Charlotte Gainsbourg, Rebel Wilson and Celyn Jones. 

The 22-track album comprises original songs and instrumental score, all composed by Gruff Rhys. Tonally, the soundtrack compliments the movie perfectly: the drama of the subject matter and the human relationships is counterbalanced by the film’s wry humour and lightness of touch, and the varied compositions and styles on Gruff Rhys’ score and compositions reflects that.

“The soundtrack for The Almond & The Seahorse was recorded largely in pandemic conditions so it was a matter of recording in bursts of possible activity in various friends’ studios, homes and even scout halls as chance permitted. It’s a varied quilt work as a result. “Gruff notes.

“As sonic flagpoles I wanted to signify the film’s location in Liverpool and the Wirral by liberally, but hopefully not too obviously, using the Mellotron synthesizer (as famously used in Strawberry Fields by the Beatles & therefore in my mind it represents that great city sonically) and the Cello as a nod to its use by Gwen’s character in the film.”

“I was encouraged by Mike Jones the editor to take things to a more acoustic, emotional and ragged place. That, I hope, roughly explains the trajectory of the recording and how the varied music contained in this record came about. I hope you enjoy this colorful scrapbook of a soundtrack and get a chance to watch the film”.