Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Sonic Youth

smart bar chicago 1985



Released: 26th Nov 2012


2lp + download

Released: 28th Nov 2012


out of stock

In 1985, Sonic Youth were touring the States following the release of their 'Bad Moon Rising' LP.

This show at Chicago’s Smart Bar was recorded on 4-track cassette & consists of live versions of most of the songs from that album, early performances of 'Secret Girl' & 'Expressway to Yr Skull' (later to be released on 'Evol') & a rare, never-before-released live rendition of 'Kat ’n’ Hat'. Mixed & mastered by the band from the original tape source, this single-CD / double-LP edition includes liner notes by Gerard Cosloy & Sonic Youth engineer Aaron Mullan, plus unpublished photos by Pat Blashill & Steven Koress. a killer live show!


smart bar chicago 1985


  1. Hallowe'en
  2. Death Valley '69
  3. Intro / Brave Men Run (In My Family)
  4. I Love Her All The Time
  5. Ghost Bitch
  6. I'm Insane
  7. Kat 'n' Hat
  8. Brother James
  9. Kill Yr Idols
  10. Secret Girl
  11. Flower
  12. The Burning Spear,
  13. Expressway To Yr Skull
  14. Making the Nature Scene