Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

various artists

LISTEN UP! ROOTS REGGAE (2020 reissue)

kingston sounds

CD (pre-order)

Expected Release: 24th Apr 2020


here's some lovely roots reggae to sink your ear into, featuring the likes of horace andy, linval thompson, johnny clarke, and many more.

This documents the period in Reggae's history that followed the 2 year supremacy of Rocksteady, which began to tail off around the end of 1968. The Reggae sound many say did not come initially from the chop of the guitar but from the stabs from the Keyboard/Organ that produced that Reggae/jerking feel. The Roots element can be heard in the heartfelt lyrics and the stories told in the songs. So sit back and enjoy some Roots Reggae straight from the heart of Jamaica...

LISTEN UP! ROOTS REGGAE (2020 reissue)


  1. Roots Natty Congo – Johnny Clarke
  2. Trying Youthman – Barry Brown
  3. Natty Dread Inna Greenwich Farm – Cornell Campbell
  4. Bad Minded People – Leroy Smart
  5. Skylarking- Horace Andy
  6. Twelve Tribes Of Israel – Linval Thompson
  7. Better Must Come- Delroy Wilson
  8. None Shall Escape The Judgement – Johnny Clarke
  9. Mr Money Man- Barry Brown
  10. Politricks- Cornell Campbell
  11. Declaration Of Rights – Johnny Clarke
  12. Trying to Wreak Up My Life – Leroy Smart
  13. Money Money – Horace Andy
  14. Long Dreadlocks – Linval Thompson
  15. Peaceful Man – Delroy Wilson (cd bonus tracks)
  16. Fight Against Corruption – Cornell Campbell (cd bonus)