Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

steve gunn

eyes on the lines



Released: 3rd Jun 2016


lp + download

Released: 3rd Jun 2016


Gunn’s music has always embraced expanse & movement but his Matador debut sees him exploring his urban surroundings through songs that showcase his extraordinary ability to match inventive hooks to deftly constructed melodies full of personality.

it's his most explicit ode to the blissful uncertainty of adventure yet & is brought to life with a full (& rather impressive) band – Nathan Bowles (drums, banjo, organ), Hans Chew (wurlitzer), James Elkington (guitar, lap steel, dobro), Mary Lattimore (harp) & more. if you love kurt vile’s slacker vibes, ryley walker’s pastoral musings or hiss golden messenger’s fire-side warmth, get on board! "How does a questing psychedelic guitarist transform themselves into classic singer-songwriter? By compromising, in many cases - Brooklyn's Steve Gunn, however, is managing the transition with uncanny elegance" – Uncut.

eyes on the lines

  1. Ancient Jules
  2. Full Moon Tide
  3. The Drop
  4. Conditions Wild
  5. Nature Driver
  6. Heavy Sails
  7. Night Wander
  8. Park Bench Smile
  9. Ark