other titles...

  1. A Woman's Way ‐ Bill Carter
  2. A Story Book Affair ‐ Bill Carter
  3. I Couldn't Keep From Crying ‐ Bill Carter
  4. That's Me Without You ‐ Bill Carter
  5. Mexican Joe ‐ Bill Carter
  6. Honeymoon On A Rocket Ship ‐ Bill Carter
  7. Big Jim Boogie ‐ Big Jim De Noone
  8. Honeycut Stomp ‐ Big Jim De Noone
  9. Wednesday Night Swing ‐ Big Jim De Noone
  10. Wild Strings ‐ Big Jim De Noone
  11. Long Lost Girl ‐ Big Jim De Noone
  12. Making Believe ‐ Bill Carter
  13. More Than A Man Can Stand ‐ Bill Carter
  14. You Ain't Got My Address ‐ Bill Carter
  15. By The Sweat Of My Brow ‐ Bill Carter
  16. Mama Loves Papa (And Papa Loves The Women) ‐ Bill Carter
  17. I Wanna Feel Good ‐ Bill Carter
  18. I Knew Her When ‐ Bill Carter
  19. I Used To Love Her ‐ Bill Carter
  20. Too Used To Being With You ‐ Bill Carter
  21. Baby Brother ‐ Bill Carter
  22. Ride Gunman, Ride ‐ Black Jack Wayne & The Rovin' Gamblers
  23. Ramblin' Fever ‐ Bill Carter
  24. Half Hour Til Sundown ‐ Bill Carter
  25. Stowaway ‐ Bill Carter
  26. Seven Years ‐ Bill Carter
  27. When God Dips His Love In My Heart ‐ Bill Carter
  28. Amazing Grace ‐ Bill Carter
  29. This World Is Not My Home ‐ Bill Carter
  30. Where We Never Grow Old ‐ Bill Carter
  31. Cool Tom Cat (unedited tape fragment) ‐ Bill Carter
  32. Secret Date (unedited version) ‐ Bill Carter
  33. Secret Date ‐ Bill Carter
  34. Cool Tom Cat ‐ Bill Carter
  35. Jailer Man (unedited) ‐ Bill Carter
  36. Jailer Man ‐ Bill Carter
  37. Jailer Man (alt. take with guitar overdub) ‐ Bill Carter
  38. Legend Of Billy The Kid (unedited) ‐ Bill Carter
  39. Legend Of Billy The Kid ‐ Bill Carter
  40. Cross Road ‐ Bill Carter
  41. Good Lord To Keep Me Happy ‐ Bill Carter
  42. Won't You Go There With Me ‐ Bill Carter
  43. Full Time Religion ‐ Bill Carter
  44. Thank You Dear Lord ‐ Bill Carter
  45. Only A Tramp On The Street ‐ Bill Carter
  46. Your Last Day On Earth ‐ Bill Carter
  47. God's Mansion In The Sky ‐ Bill Carter
  48. Ain't You Gonna Change ‐ Bill Carter
  49. The Gates Of Glory ‐ Bill Carter
  50. Where You Gonna Hide ‐ Bill Carter
  51. Glory In Your Soul ‐ Bill Carter
  52. Pony Express ‐ Bill Carter
  53. You'll Never Know ‐ Bill Carter
  54. Dreambowl Commercial with Black Jack Wayne ‐ Bill Carter
  55. Colt 45 ‐ part I ‐ Bill Carter
  56. Colt 45 ‐ part II ‐ Bill Carter
  57. Shot Four Times And Dyin' ‐ Bill Carter
  58. Stranger Shake Hands With A Fool ‐ Bill Carter
  59. The 12th Man ‐ Bill Carter
  60. From Time To Time ‐ Bill Carter
  61. I'll Be Still Loving You ‐ Bill Carter
  62. Steamboat's A‐Comin' ‐ Bill Carter
  63. Climb That Scaffold, Jimmy ‐ Bill Carter
  64. Stranger Shake Hands With A Fool (uptempo version) ‐ Bill Carter
  65. Looking Through The Bars ‐ Bill Carter
  66. I've Missed You ‐ Bill Carter
  67. Better Times Are Coming ‐ Bill Carter



bear family
  • 2CD

    Released: 13th May 2022


On this double CD, Bear Family Records is the first label to present all commercial recordings of the great Bill Carter released between 1953 and 1961, including recordings he made as a singer with Western Swing bandleader Big Jim DeNoone.

Bill Carter was born in 1929 in Eagleton, Arkansas, moved with his family to Oklahoma in 1937 and six years later to Indio, California. His family encouraged the teenager's interest in music and paid for his singing lessons. Before joining the U.S. Air Force in 1949, he had already performed on several local radio stations. During his military service in California, he formed his first C&W bands and performed in the San Francisco area and at a radio station in San Antonio, Texas. After completing his military service in 1953, Carter joined Jim DeNoone's country band as a vocalist and performed at the 'California Hayride' in San Francisco and elsewhere. The band's recordings for Gilt‐Edge Records, produced that same year, feature Bill Carter as a singer for the first time. He eventually formed his own trio, with whom he worked regularly over the next five years, aiming to become known beyond the local area. During the 1950s in California, he and his band accompanied numerous big names in country music such as Marvin Rainwater, Lefty Frizzell, Freddie Hart, T‐Texas Tyler and Buck Owens on tour on the West Coast. Between 1956 and 1961, Carter recorded under his own name for small and mid‐sized labels such as 4‐Star, Republic, Tally, Black Jack, Honey B, 'D', Rural Rhythm and Ozark. The 1957 up‐tempo number I Wanna Feel Good, produced in Bakersfield, California for Tally, became his biggest hit and opened the doors to the 'Louisiana Hayride' and the 'Grand Ole Opry'. In the years after 1961 Carter followed a new personal orientation and produced Christian Country Music from then on. With this double CD Bear Family Records® delivers the comprehensive work show on the career of the versatile Bill Carter. Of the total of 67 tunes, only the ten best rockers were previously released on Bear Family's 10"LP 'Cool Tom Cat' (BAF14010). So Carter's complete commercial recordings from the years 1953‐‘61 are united on this double album! The detailed liner notes are written by Michael Hurtt, who together with Billy Miller, deceased five years ago, wrote the great book 'Mind Over Matter' about the history of Detroit's Fortune label!