Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.





Released: 18th Nov 2010


180g lp + download

Released: 7th Apr 2014


out of stock

Supposedly a concept album about the disgraced 37th president of the United States (though the lyrics make no recognisable statements about Richard Nixon's infamous life & times), Lambchop's fifth full-length was a powerful consolidation of the strengths they'd gained since their uncertain debut in 1994.

Kurt Wagner's sometimes singing/ sometimes talking vocal style & lyrics that were oblique to the point of seeing surreal, remained a matter of taste, but his melodies hit a new peak in their beauty & evocative spirit as he merged countrypolitan country, smooth R&B & chamber pop in ambitious & intriguing ways. And as Lambchop swelled to 13 musicians (not counting guest musicians, a choir, & the string section), the arrangements became increasingly sophisticated as Wagner & his collaborators used their rich palette of sounds to inspire a wealth of moods -- from the easygoing groove of "Grumpus" to the luxurious sadness of "Nashville Parent" -- & helped to clarify and strengthen that which seemed uncertain in Wagner's lyrics. And given the sheer ambition of this album, Nixon is a milestone in independent record making, music constructed on a grand scale that's richly satisfying without seeming overdone or tricked up simply for its own sake.



  1. The Old Gold Shoe
  2. Grumpuss
  3. You Masculine You
  4. Up with People
  5. Nashville Parent
  6. What Else Could It Be?
  7. The Distance from Her to There
  8. The Book I Haven't Read
  9. The Petrified Florist
  10. The Butcher Boy