Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Nick Cave & Warren Ellis

white lunar



Released: 18th Jun 2012


out of stock

a selection of pieces taken from various motion pictures & documentaries that cave & ellis have been involved in, namely ‘the assassination of jesse james’, ‘the proposition’, ‘the road’, ‘the english surgeon’, ‘the girls of phnom penh’ & a variety of pieces selected from the vaults.

the 1st cd has the big themes, the orchestra & the songs whereas the 2nd disc is fractured, haunting & sometimes badly behaved. accompanying the soundtracks on the 2nd disc are 4 pieces drawn from the cave & ellis archives, all named after craters : ‘magma’ is constructed from a chorus of warren’s singing a pitch-shifted riff, ‘zanstra’ swarms like a storm of hornets besieging a submarine, ‘halo’ finds pastoral calm in the eager teeth of defeat & ‘daedalus’ rises sure as the sun, with dewy flute & fluttering piano, before a sudden fade. the sequence is conceived as a suite. “listen to it as you might listen to an instrumental album” recommends ellis, “as some kind of trip”. essential listening – obviously.

white lunar


cd 1

  1. Song For Jesse
  2. Moving On
  3. What Must Be Done
  4. Song For Bob
  5. Happy Land
  6. The Proposition 1
  7. The Road To Banyon
  8. The Rider 2
  9. Martha's Dream
  10. Gun Thing
  11. The Rider Song
  12. The Road
  13. The Mother
  14. The Father
  15. The Beach
  16. The Journey
  17. The Boy

CD 2

  1. Srey Leak        
  2. Me Nea                       
  3. Rom        
  4. Halo         
  5. Zanstra                         
  6. Black Silk (Suture)        
  7. Brain Retractor             
  8. Dandy Brain Cannula    
  9. Rat’s Tooth Forceps             
  10. Kerrison’s Punch                 
  11. Micro Sucker                                            
  12. Window                      
  13. Daedalus         
  14. Magma            
  15. Cheata                       
  16. Sorya Market