Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


the cliff

southern lord


Released: 23rd Feb 2015


a new vocal driven EP from Chicago’s esteemed quartet Pelican.

The four track EP includes remixes from Justin Broadrick (of Godflesh, Jesu), Aaron Harris & Bryant Clifford Meyer of ISIS/Palms & for only the 2nd time in their 14 year career, vocals. The 12” vinyl is fresh reimaginings of ‘The Cliff’, a highlight from their most recent album, 2013’s 'Forever Becoming' & one recently completed exclusive new song. Allen Epley (Shiner, The Life and Times) once again returns to the band’s fold to transform, in a complementary manner, the concept & overall outcome of what we have come to know as Pelican. No cheap juxtaposition, Epley’s seasoned voice is as broad & astonishingly capable on “The Cliff” as the members behind the music, a claim those who have listened to Epley’s contribution on “Final Breath” from 2009’s “What We All Come To Need” will attest to. Elsewhere on the record, Justin Broadrick & AH/BCM turn in fresh takes of the source material, feeling less like remixes than new compositions reworked from the original source. Rounding out the set is the previously unreleased song “The Wait”, a contemplative semi-acoustic simmer that builds to an explosion of cathartic distortion & melody in true Pelican fashion.

the cliff


  1. The Cliff (Vocal Version)
  2. The Cliff (Justin Broadrick Remix)
  3. The Cliff (Palms Remix - A. Harris and B. C. Meyer)
  4. The Wait