Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Adrian Younge / Venice Dawn

Something About April

Linear Labs


Released: 8th Jun 2015


an album that flaunts all of the trademarks that have made Younge an in-demand name as a composer and sample source-point.

His work oozes raw, analogue soul and the primal sonic edge of psychedelic rock, sitting nicely alongside Ennio Morricone’s best soundtrack work; Pink Floyd’s early catalogue and Parliament’s 'Osmium'. Younge’s songwriting is what truly makes this album unique and keeps ears engaged. While many of his tunes are initially vamp-driven, there are changes and aural twists that lurk around every corner, as evidenced on stand-out cuts including: The intense, deep groove and stripped-down vocals of “Turn Down The Sound” [sampled for Common’s “Out On Bond”]. The turns of both tension and beauty on “Reverie” (with all TWELVE instruments per formed by Younge) [sampled on Jay-Z’s “Heaven,” with Justin Timberlake]. The gorgeous, cinematic ballads “First Step On The Moon” and “Two Hearts Combine”. The breakbeat fiesta of “Sirens” [used by Jay-Z for “Picasso Baby”. The new millennial soul/doo-wop of “Lovely Lady,” complete with lead guitar by funky soul legend Dennis Coffey.

*** This deluxe reissue vinyl on Younge’s Linear Labs imprint includes a bonus instrumental song from the original album sessions “Niacin” ***

Something About April


  1. Turn Down The Sound
  2. It’s Me
  3. Anna May
  4. Two Hearts Combine
  5. Thunderstrike
  6. Reverie
  7. First Step On The Moon
  8. Dusts Of Gold
  9. Midnight Blue
  10. Lovely Lady (feat. Dennis Coffey)
  11. Sound Of A Man
  12. Sirens
  13. Mourning Melodies In Rhapsody
  14. Something About April
  15. Niacin (bonus track)