Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


Workbook (25th Anniversary Edition)



Released: 25th May 2015


out of stock

when punk rocker turned folk-rocker - 25 years ago, Husker du fans reacted in horror at bandleader Mould's post-split re-emergence as an introspective singer-songwriter, moving naturally between the acoustic instrumental opener 'sunspots', the stern and stormy orchestras of 'poison years' and the electric rage that ignites midway through 'wishing well'.

Now the great man sounds entirely ahead of his time on this 25th anniversary special edition reissue of his classic solo debut. Its an engrossing, immersive, sometimes barbed and bitter but always melodically powerful set, inhabiting a sound that hits a perfect midway point between Richard Thompson, mid-period REM and the great Husker Du themselves. The original album is supplemented by bonus B-side ‘All Those People Know’ and a second CD containing Mould's complete 1989 performance at Chicago’s Cabaret Metro. Add full liner notes plus an extra contribution by Ryan Adams, and this is the ideal companion to a night in with 'flip your wig' and 'copper blue'.

Workbook (25th Anniversary Edition)


CD 1

  1. Sunspots
  2. Wishing Well
  3. Heartbreak a Stranger
  4. See A Little Light
  5. Poison Years
  6. Sinners And Their Repentances
  7. Brasilia Crossed With Trenton
  8. Compositions For The Young And Old
  9. Lonely Afternoon
  10. Dreaming, I Am
  11. Whichever Way The Wind Blows
  12. All Those People Know (bonus track)

CD 2:

  1. Sunspots
  2. Wishing Well
  3. Compositions For The Young and Old
  4. Heartbreak A Stranger
  5. Dreaming, I Am
  6. If You’re True
  7. Poison Years
  8. Sinners And Their Repentances
  9. Lonely Afternoon
  10. Brasilia Crossed With Trenton
  11. See A Little Light
  12. Whichever Way The Wind Blows
  13. All Those People Know
  14. Shoot Out The Lights
  15. Hardly Getting Over It
  16. Celebrated Summer
  17. Makes No Sense At All