Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Vince Staples

Summertime '06

Def Jam Recordings


Released: 6th Jul 2015


The Long Beach rapper, who rose to prominence as an affiliate of the shock rap crew Odd Future, releases his debut double album & the new kid on the block sounds like a force to be reckoned with.

executive produced by No ID, with appearances from Jhene Aiko, Desi Mo, A$ton Matthews & more, this old-school sounding record is having accolades piled on it from almost every strand of the press. "conjures the spirit of a 21-year-old Ice Cube.....N.W.A. is the ur-influence for practically all L.A. hip-hop, and Staples is just a year older than Cube was when he released his solo debut, 'AmeriKKKa’s Most Wanted'. But the similarities go deeper: Both Cube and Staples make music that some rap fans might call “conscious,” without falling into the attendant pitfalls" wired, "Without doubt one of the year’s most earnest rap records”  - The Quietus,  “Masterful”  - FACT, “Breathtakingly Focused” 8.8 - Pitchfork - 8.8/10.


Summertime '06


  1. Ramona Park Legend, Pt. 1
  2. Lift Me Up
  3. Norf Norf
  4. Birds & Bees
  5. Loca
  6. Lemme Know
  7. Dopeman
  8. Jump Off the Roof
  9. Señorita
  10. Summertime
  11. Ramona Park Legend Pt. 2
  12. 3230
  13. Surf
  14. Might Be Wrong
  15. Get Paid
  16. Street Punks
  17. Hang N' Bang
  18. C.N.B.
  19. Like It Is
  20. '06