Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Field Music


Memphis Industries


Released: 5th Feb 2016


2lp + download

Released: 5th Feb 2016


ltd indies only neon orange 2lp + download

Released: 5th Feb 2016


out of stock

the real joy of the brewis brothers is that no-one else really does what they do; the interweaving vocals, the rhythmic gear changes, the slightly off-chords, but with the sensibility that keeps them within touching distance of pop music.

Where 2012's 'Plumb' was an album of vignettes & segues, their 6th studio album, 'Commontime', edges towards what people might dare to call “proper songs”. Field Music have never shown off their unashamed love of choruses quite like they do here. Lyrically, Peter & David continue to mine that inexhaustible seam wondering how on earth we ended up here, in this situation, as these people. Musically they wander through a soundworld that takes in 10cc, talking heads, steely dan, roxy music & queen but twists them all into a jerky but cohesive aural delight. "balances the Brewis brothers' predilection for unusual song structures & unconventional instrumentation with a decidedly grown up narrative" 7.8/10 - pitchfork  

natasha recommends: "at 1st, the pace, complexity & intensity of the brewis brothers’ latest oeuvre was a little overwhelming (they never sit still!) but slowly slowly, song by song, ‘commontime’ has become my go-to pick-me-up album. sheer joy!"




  1. The Noisy Days Are Over
  2. Disappointed
  3. But Not For You
  4. I'm Glad
  5. Don’t You Want To Know
  6. What's Wrong?
  7. How Should I Know If You've Changed?
  8. Trouble At The Lights
  9. They Want You To Remember
  10. It's A Good Thing
  11. The Morning Is Waiting
  12. Same Name
  13. Stay Awake