Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

the comet is coming

Channel The Spirits

the leaf label


Released: 1st Apr 2016


out of stock

limited repress lp + download

Released: 19th Apr 2019


out of stock

there’s no end to the creative ingenuity of shabaka hutchins – not content with adding his volatile and inimitable sax to sons of kemet and melt yourself down, he finds himself here spearheading an ornate mutant jazz album with saviours Danalogue The Conqueror and Betamax Killer of soccer96.

‘channel the spirits’ brings to mind more than just the purported afrofuturism of sun ra and funkadelic that the press release informs us of – there’s also tones of boards of Canada and clark underwriting the hugely inventive sprawl on display here. ultimately though the sound is one of their own invention – there’s simply nothing else out there that’s close to this at the moment and we’re incredibly excited by that. “raucous space jazz” – 8/10 uncut

James Canham recommends: "A monstrous saxophone laden electronic jazz psych freakout that’s come out of nowhere and somehow manages to sound like Factory Floor orchestrated by Kamasi Washington"

super limited 'hyperdrive' edition:

Image result for the comet is coming hyperdrive edition


Channel The Spirits


  1. The Prophecy
  2. Space Carnival
  3. Journey Through The Asteroid Belt
  4. Nano
  5. New Age
  6. Slam Dunk In A Black Hole
  7. Cosmic Dust
  8. Star Furnace
  9. Channel The Spirits
  10. Deep Within The Engine Deck
  11. Lightyears (feat. Joshua Idehen)
  12. End of Earth