Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


Fairport Convention 50:[email protected]



Released: 10th Mar 2017


out of stock

the UK's most influential folk-rock band, celebrates its 50th anniversary this split between 7 outstanding live pieces & 7 stunning studio sessions.

half of the 14 tracks were recorded at recent concerts and half in the studio. With 9 compositions by members of Fairport, the album presents a mix of brand new songs and favourites from Fairport’s repertoire. 2 tracks feature guest lead vocals: 1 from Robert Plant and 1 from Pentangle's Jacqui McShee. In the words of bassist Dave Pegg: “This album shows Fairport is nothing if not versatile. The tracks range from new folk-rock (Eleanor’s Dream for instance) to lively instrumentals (as in Danny Jack's Reward, a Ric Sanders tune augmented in this recording by Joe Broughton’s Conservatoire Ensemble) to Chris Leslie’s lovely lyrical songs (such as Our Bus Rolls On).The album also demonstrates Fairport's chameleon-like aptitude for collaboration. We become Robert Plant's backing band for ‘Jesus On The Mainline’ (recorded live after a single run-through at The Mill theatre in Banbury) and we are joined by Pentangle vocalist Jacqui McShee on ‘Lady of Carlisle’”


Fairport Convention 50:50@50


  1. CD Tracks: Eleanor's Dream
  2. Ye Mariners All (Live)
  3. Step By Step
  4. The Naked Highwayman (Live)
  5. Danny Jack's Reward (Expensive Version)
  6. Jesus On The Mainline (Live)
  7. Devil's Work
  8. Mercy Bay (Live)
  9. Our Bus Rolls On
  10. Portmeirion (Live)
  11. The Lady Of Carlisle
  12. Lord Marlborough (Live)
  13. Summer By The Cherwell
  14. John Condon (Live)
  15. LP Tracks: Eleanor's Dream
  16. Mercy Bay (Live)
  17. Our Bus Rolls On
  18. Jesus On The Mainline (Live)
  19. Step By Step
  20. Danny Jack's Reward (Expensive Version)
  21. Devil's Work
  22. The Lady Of Carlisle
  23. Summer By The Cherwell
  24. John Condon (Live)