Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

The National

Sleep Well Beast



Released: 8th Sep 2017


gatefold white 2lp + download

Released: 8th Sep 2017


can this lot do no wrong? seven albums in and they’re at the peak of their game, channelling nick cave at his most morose, springsteen’s ‘nebraska’ and wilco’s more widescreen moments while still sounding resoundingly original.

with ‘sleep well beast’ they’ve honed their sound perfectly, perfectly marrying their more blown out, anthemic moments that’ll have you singing along with the devastatingly honest and beautifully delivered verse from berninger (who, by now, must surely rank as one of the usa’s finest living songwriters). if you’re already a fan you’ll be hooked like us from the first listen, and if it’s all new, what are you waiting for?? “an aquatic, slow-moving work work, rich with melancholic atmosphere” – 8/10, uncut

Sleep Well Beast


  1. Nobody Else Will Be There
  2. Day I Die
  3. Walk It Back
  4. The System Only Dreams in Total Darkness
  5. Born to Beg
  6. Turtleneck
  7. Empire Line
  8. I’ll Still Destroy You
  9. Guilty Party
  10. Carin at the Liquor Store
  11. Dark Side of the Gym
  12. Sleep Well Beast