Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith

the kid

western vinyl


Released: 6th Oct 2017


2LP + download

Released: 6th Oct 2017


limited indies only clear blue 2lp + download

Released: 6th Oct 2017


The follow-up to her 2016 breakthrough, ‘Ears’ (which is continuing to work its seemingly endless magic on us), is another multi-layered avant-garde sound design masterpiece that fans of Julia Holter, Holly Herndon & Fever Ray/The Knife will relish.

There is playfulness here but it's elevated by an undertone of gravity into something compelling & majestic that is fast becoming Smith's watermark - epiphanic climbing strings, noisy textures, low end pulses, choral vocal layering & verdant orchestral moments. Rich worlds of synthesized sound born from deep reverence of the natural world (Smith cites naturalist David Attenborough as a contemporary muse), ‘The Kid’ chronicles four defining cognitive & emotional stages of the human lifespan. Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith belongs to an ilk of modern musicians who are defined by their commitment to creating experiential albums despite the singles-oriented shuffle-habits of modern listeners & here she represents her kind proudly.

the kid

  1. I Am A Thought
  2. An Intention
  3. A Kid
  4. In The World
  5. I Am Consumed
  6. In The World But Not Of The World
  7. I Am Learning
  8. To Follow And Lead
  9. Until I Remember
  10. Who I Am Why I Am Where I Am
  11. I Am Curious I Care
  12. I Will Make Room For You
  13. To Feel Your Best