Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


C’est La Vie

Dead Oceans


Released: 5th Oct 2018


limited indies-only clear lp + download

Released: 5th Oct 2018


houck has crafted an electrifying collection of songs that blend a dreamy, psychedelic Americana aesthetic with solid pop foundations that never fail to engage.

This album reveals a crystallisation of what made ‘Muchacho’ such a breakout — a little sweetness and a little menace, sometimes boot-stomping and sometimes meditative. The magic of Matthew Houck’s music has always been the way he weaves shimmering, almost golden-sounding threads through elemental, salt-of-the-earth sounds. It’s not experimental, exactly, but it’s singular and it’s definitely not traditional. That knack, the through-line across the Phosphorescent catalogue, is front and centre here. fans of bon iver, iron and wine, bonnie prince billy, Damien Jurado and okkervil river will love this! “songs of experience make up matthew houck’s heavenly seventh” 4/5 – mojo.

C’est La Vie

  1. Black Moon / Silver Waves
  2. C'est La Vie No.2
  3. New Birth In New England
  4. There From Here
  5. Around The Horn
  6. Christmas Down Under
  7. My Beautiful Boy
  8. These Rocks
  9. Black Waves / Silver Moon