Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Various Artists / Soul Jazz Records Presents

STUDIO ONE Lovers Rock

Soul Jazz Records


Released: 9th Nov 2018


heavyweight 2lp + download

Released: 9th Nov 2018


a blistering selection of stone-cold studio one classics and super rare cuts, soul jazz can’t help but be truly excellent.

this is a fantastic selection featuring all-star legendary Studio One vocalists - Alton Ellis, Marcia Griffiths, The Heptones, Horace Andy, Freddie McGregor, Sugar Minott - alongside a host of classic and super-rare Lovers Rock cuts, all of which Clement Dodd recorded at the Brentford Road studio. Lovers rock brought together many elements and here you will find sweet harmonies, late 1960s rocksteady, 1970s soul covers, disco mixes, recuts and new rhythms, which all fit together in a timeless twilight of love and harmony - as if lovers silhouetted by a Kingston sunset.

STUDIO ONE Lovers Rock


  1. Alton Ellis - Tumbling Tears
  2. The Heptones - I Hold The Handle
  3. Carlton And The Shoes - Never Give Your Heart Away
  4. The Minstrels - Yours Until Tomorrow
  5. Jerry Jones - Oh Me Oh My
  6. Horace Andy - I’ll Be Gone
  7. Carlton And The Shoes - Let Me Love You (12” Discomix)
  8. The Invaders - Soulful Music
  9. Sugar Minott - Ghetto Girl
  10. Marcia Griffiths - Truly
  11. Devon Russell - My Woman’s Love
  12. Billy Cole - Rock All Night
  13. Freddie McGregor - I Don’t Know
  14. Cornel Campbell - Didn’t I
  15. Horace Andy - Wanna Be Free
  16. The Heptones - My Ting A Ling (12” Discomix)
  17. Alton Ellis - Someone (Extended mix)
  18. The Righteous Flames - I Was Born To Be Loved