Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

william tyler

Goes West



Released: 25th Jan 2019


lp + download

Released: 1st Feb 2019


A vividly painted instrumental album, there is a beauty and tranquility that surrounds ‘Goes West’, a sense of magic in the way that it captures both the heart, and the imagination, in equal amounts – close your eyes and you are transported immediately deep into rural America for a gripping, captivating musical journey full of personality, reminiscent of Gustavo Santaolallo’s gorgeous ‘Brokeback Mountain’ score.

In the music of Tyler, the South is not apart from America; the South is America condensed. ‘Goes West’ marks a narrowing of focus, a way to point himself directly towards the rich and bittersweet emotional centre of his music without being distracted by side trips. Surprisingly for one of Nashville’s finest electric guitarists, he only plays acoustic guitar throughout, allowing his band the space and freedom with which to explore new worlds of sound and movement. "melodies that convey messages on emotive and spiritual levels." - popmatters, "invigoratingly sunny" - mojo, "constantly twisting and turning...rewards repeat listens" 8/10 - exclaim

Goes West


  1. Alpine Star
  2. Fail Safe
  3. Not in Our Stars
  4. Call Me When I’m Breathing Again
  5. Eventual Surrender
  6. Rebecca
  7. Venus in Aquarius
  8. Virginia Is for Loners
  9. Man in a Hurry
  10. Our Lady of the Desert