Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Mercury Rev

Bobbie Gentry’s The Delta Sweete Revisited

bella union


Released: 8th Feb 2019


out of stock

180g lp + download

Released: 8th Feb 2019


This stunning reworking of Bobbie Gentry’s music makes the most of the incredible range of guest vocalists they’ve enlisted – this warmly produced, beautiful set of tunes is so much more than just a covers record.

Despite the range of people they’ve worked with, the whole album still ties together perfectly – the mostly spartan orchestration is devastatingly effective and brings the darker side of her lyrics to the light (especially on ‘Parchman Farm’) while not letting go of that sweet beauty that she brought to all of her songs. “‘Delta Sweete’ manages to breathe new life into Gentry’s album while also producing material as good as anything the band have done this century.” – 8/10, loud & quiet

Bobbie Gentry’s The Delta Sweete Revisited


  1. Okolona River Bottom Band ft. Norah Jones
  2. Big Boss Man ft. Hope Sandoval
  3. Reunion ft. Rachel Goswell
  4. Parchman Farm ft. Carice van Houten
  5. Mornin’ Glory ft. Laetitia Sadier
  6. Sermon ft. Margo Price
  7. Tobacco Road ft. Susanne Sundfør
  8. Penduli Pendulum ft. Vashti Bunyan with Kaela Sinclair
  9. Jessye Lisabeth ft. Phoebe Bridgers
  10. Refractions ft. Marissa Nadler
  11. Courtyard ft. Beth Orton
  12. Ode To Billie Joe ft. Lucinda Williams