Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


True North

paradise of bachelors


Released: 8th Feb 2019


the elder statesman of British songwriting and guitar-playing revels in his 2nd act with a set of intimate, stately, melancholic and all-round devastating songs.

This is Chapman at his darkest and most nocturnal, but also his most elegant and subtle, with gorgeous pastoral moments set against some of his most personal moments. once again Steve Gunn produces and plays guitar, and fellow UK song writing hero Bridget St John sings, collaborating with cellist Sarah Smout and legendary pedal steel player BJ Cole. "A rich, haunting, collection of forlorn love songs, apocalyptic picaresques, and bewitching instrumentals that marks the latest stage in a remarkable career renaissance ... by the godfather of new cosmic Americana" - The Guardian, "A finely tuned piece that surveys the looming thunderclouds of mortality and the biblical gloom of the times, and quietly, unshowily transcends both" - Uncut

True North

  1. It's Too Late
  2. After All This Time
  3. Vanity & Pride
  4. Eleuthera
  5. Bluesman
  6. Full Bottle, Empty Heart
  7. Truck Song
  8. Caddo Lake
  9. Hell to Pay
  10. Youth Is Wasted on the Young
  11. Bon Ton Roolay