Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

mark lanegan band

Somebody's Knocking

heavenly recordings

Limited first pressing sea blue 180g 2lp + download

Released: 18th Oct 2019


sending his more-gravelly-than-ever tones colliding with the gloomiest electro-pop & post-punk that the 80s had to offer, the result is a joyfully gothic platter of brooding, swaggering pop songs.

From the opening bars of Disbelief Suspension onwards, it’s clear that ‘Somebody’s Knocking’ is an album made by someone deeply obsessed with how music - with all its primal, spiritual healing power - truly penetrates the soul. From the ‘Raw Power’-esque garage metal grind of that opener to Letter Never Sent’s rocket-powered take on Love-era kaleidoscope-psych, through the pensive subterranean murk of Dark Disco Jag & on to Playing Nero’s sun-bleached riff on Joy Division’s Atmosphere, there’s the glee of infatuation running deep in the tracks. “voice weathered like medieval parchment, lanegan brings dependable authenticity to these savvy pop songs’ dire admonitions, but also an abundance of swagger & fun” 4/5 – mojo.

Somebody's Knocking


  1. Disbelief Suspension
  2. Letter Never Sent
  3. Night Flight to Kabul
  4. Dark Disco Jag
  5. Name and Number
  6. Playing Nero
  7. Radio Silence
  8. Penthouse High
  9. Paper Hat
  10. stitch It Up
  11. Gazing from the Shore
  12. War Horse
  13. She Loved You
  14. Two Bells Ringing At Once