Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

…and you will know us by the trail of dead

X: The Godless Void and Other Stories

insideout music

heavyweight lp + cd

Released: 17th Jan 2020


Expansive yet concise, this album nods to the band’s traditional touchstones – the feral scree of Sonic Youth, Rush’s symphonic anthems, the textured bliss of My Bloody Valentine – while morphing effortlessly into newer forms.

The synth-orchestral swell of curtain-raiser “Opening Crescendoes” recalls Hans Zimmer and Tangerine Dream, before “All Who Wander” descends from guitar-soaked high drama into simmering, murky psych. Next up, “Something Like This” offers nods to the ethereal songcraft that defined the sound of the legendary 4AD label, before everything kicks in at full pelt with “Into The Godless Void”, as noisy and thrilling an existential anthem as the band have ever put their name to. And this is just the first four songs… Work on X: The Godless Void and Other Stories began in earnest in 2018, after Keely returned to the band’s hometown of Austin following five years in Cambodia. Appropriately, it all feels fresh.

Mark says: "ROCK music. From the get go, this is punching you in the face. Trail Of Dead have moved from their Sonic Youth-esque adolescence into a band more refined, while maintaining that 'not give a rats' attitude. –  this new album nestles on the fringes of shoegaze & post-hardcore. Just expect your neck to hurt from the headbanging after".

Ian says: “Took me a bit by surprise this one. As a huge fan of their early releases (& not so much the later ones) I gave it a go & was instantly hooked. There's a decent helping of 'classic' Trail Of Dead noise breakdowns & it has some pretty epic vocal melodies too.”


X: The Godless Void and Other Stories


  1. The Opening Crescendo
  2. All Who Wander
  3. Something Like This
  4. Into the Godless Void
  5. Don't Look Down
  6. Gone
  7. Children of the Sky
  8. Who Haunts the Haunter
  9. Eyes of the Overworld
  10. Gravity
  11. Blade of Wind
  12. Through the Sunlit Door