Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Baxter Dury

The Night Chancers

heavenly recordings


Released: 20th Mar 2020


Dirty slow-grinding grooves & deadpan witticisms ahoy! Dury’s back and he’s lost none of his trademark, cigarette-dangling-out-of-the-corner-of-his-mouth, laid-back-to-the-point-of-passing-out, delivery.

From thrilling affairs that dissolve into sweaty desperation (Night Chancers) to the absurd bloggers, fruitlessly clinging to the fag ends of the fashion set (Sleep People), via soiled real life (Slum Lord) social media–enabled stalkers (I’m not Your Dog) and new day, sleep – deprived optimism (Daylight), the record’s finely drawn vignettes, are all based on the corners of world Dury has visited. FFO: Alex Cameron, Ian Dury, Sleaford Mods, Dean Blunt “The Night Chancers is Dury’s most accomplished work, its self-awareness and innate understanding of genre and language shows the songwriter to be in the prime of his creativity.” 9/10 – The Line Of Best Fit.

The Night Chancers

  1. I'm Not Your Dog
  2. Slumlord
  3. Saliva Hog
  4. Samurai
  5. Sleep People
  6. Carla's Got A Boyfriend
  7. The Night Chancers
  8. Hello, I'm Sorry
  9. Daylight
  10. Say Nothing