Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Tony Allen & Hugh Masekela


World Circuit Records 


Released: 20th Mar 2020


out of stock

heavyweight lp + obi strip

Released: 20th Mar 2020


A very special post-humous collaboration between tony allen, the legendary drummer and co-founder of afrobeat, and the sadly departed master trumpet player, hugh masekela.

‘rejoice’ can be seen as the long overdue confluence of two mighty african musical rivers – a union of two free-flowing souls for whom borders, whether physical or stylistic, are things to pass through or ignore completely. according to allen, the album deals in “a kind of south african-nigerian swing-jazz stew”, with its roots firmly in afrobeat. allen & masekela are accompanied on the record by a new generation of well-respected jazz musicians including tom herbert (acoustic ladyland / the invisible), joe armon-jones (ezra collective), mutale chashi (kokoroko) and steve williamson. “If ‘Rejoice’ is Afrobeat it is chamber Afrobeat: a minimalist version of a resolutely maximalist music” 4/5 - Financial Times



  1. Robbers, Thugs and Muggers (O’Galajani)
  2. Agbada Bougou
  3. Coconut Jam
  4. Never (Lagos Never Gonna Be The Same)
  5. Slow Bones
  6. Jabulani (Rejoice, Here Comes Tony)
  7. Obama Shuffle Strut Blues
  8. We’ve Landed