Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Mark Lanegan

Straight Songs Of Sorrow

heavenly recordings

limited indies-only gatefold heavyweight crystal clear 2lp + download

Released: 8th May 2020


out of stock


Released: 8th May 2020


gatefold heavyweight 2lp + download

Released: 8th May 2020


written directly after digging up memories long buried for his new memoir 'sing backwards & weep', this record is raw & personal, written with the same breadth, intensity & unpredictability as life itself.

Here are 15 songs inspired by his life story; a brutal, nerve-shredding listen, thanks to Lanegan’s unsparing candour. There’s death & tragedy, yet also humour & hope, thanks to the tenacity which impels its host, even at his lowest moments. The album features the likes of Alain Johannes (qotsa, pj harvey), john paul jones, jack irons (of course, the founding drummer for rhcp), ed harcourt, dylan carlson (earth), mark morton (lamb of god), greg dulli, warren ellis, simon bonney, & more! “The raw & intense exploration of a tortured soul. This stuff is a few circles of hell deeper than anything leonard cohen ever did” 4/5 – the arts desk.

Kevin says: "Of course it's gloomy - it's Mark Lanegan! He is at his morose best on this collection of 15 songs recounting tales of his troubled life. Ace song writing, top guest musicians & all round a great album".

Straight Songs Of Sorrow


  1. I Wouldn't Want To Say
  2. Apples From A Tree
  3. This Game of Love
  4. Ketamine
  5. Bleed All Over
  6. Churchbells, Ghosts
  7. Internal Hourglass Discussion
  8. Stockholm City Blues
  9. Skeleton Key
  10. Daylight In The Nocturnal House
  11. Ballad of A Dying Rover
  12. Hanging On (For DRC)
  13. Burying Ground
  14. At Zero Below
  15. Eden Lost And Found