Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


HEARTWORM (2021 reissue)

Needle Mythology

180g gatefold 2lp - 1 per customer

Released: 10th Sep 2021


out of stock

2cd in gatefold vinyl replica sleeve

Released: 10th Sep 2021


Since its release in 1995, the second album by Whipping Boy has, slowly but undeniably, come to be regarded as one of the most extraordinary rock albums of its age.

Heartworm heralded a dramatic transformation for the Dublin quartet, who jettisoned the diaphanous dreampop of their 1992 debut Submarine; choosing instead to honour Fearghal McKee’s wounded confessionals with unprecedented pugnacity and a new emphasis on melody. In the year that Britpop became a rolling news story, Heartworm slipped out under the radar – although similarly against-the-grain contemporaneous releases include Manic Street Preachers’ The Holy Bible and Radiohead’s The Bends. This reissue on Needle Mythology Records has been remastered by Sean Magee at Abbey Road and features an extra album of previously rare and unreleased music and comprehensive liner notes by esteemed Irish music journalist Colm O’ Callaghan. 

HEARTWORM (2021 reissue)


  1. Twinkle
  2. When We Were Young
  3. Tripped
  4. The Honeymoon Is Over
  5. We Don’t Need Nobody Else
  6. Blinded
  7. Personality
  8. Users
  9. Fiction
  10. Morning Rise
  11. When We Were Young (Philo Version)
  12. I Am God (previously unreleased demo)
  13. Magnolia (previously unreleased demo)
  14. Caroline Says II
  15. Tripped (Live)
  16. We Don’t Need Nobody Else (Acoustic Version)
  17. Disappointed
  18. Twinkle (Acoustic Version)
  19. As The Day Goes
  20. A Natural