Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

bill fay

Still Some Light: Part 1 (2022 reissue)

Dead Oceans

limited 2lp (first time on vinyl!) - 1 per customer

Released: 14th Jan 2022



Released: 14th Jan 2022


out of stock

collecting Fay’s archival recordings from 1970 and 1971, these heart-wrenching tunes make their first ever appearance on vinyl, .

Bill Fay has always sung about attempting to understand the most universal questions: those of nature, spirituality, humanity. His songs are “calming hymns for another chaotic time”, he says. His influence can be traced through many artist’s work, and so it only seemed right to celebrate this with a collection of newer voices interpreting his timeless tracks. Originally released in 2010 by David Tibet (Current 93), Still Some Light was made up of 70’s album demos and 2009 home recordings. This year, for the first time, this collection of recordings makes its vinyl debut. Bill Fay’s words and melodies remain unaffected by the passing of time and changing trends; and here alongside the original recordings, these reinvented versions still calmly guide us through another moment of chaos. Many of the songs are intimate sketches which were eventually re-recorded for Fay’s self-titled debut and for his landmark album, Time of the Last Persecution. This double LP set includes heart wrenching versions of some of his timeless works, such as “I Hear You Calling” and “Pictures of Adolf Again”, and features equally powerful songs like “Arnold is a Simple Man” and “Love is the Tune,” which only appear in this collection.

Still Some Light: Part 1 (2022 reissue)


  1. Backwoods Maze
  2. The Sun Is Bored
  3. There's A Price Upon My Head
  4. Time Of The Last Persecution
  5. Plan D
  6. Sing Us One of Your Songs May
  7. I Will Find My Own Way Back
  8. Love Is the Tune
  9. Laughing Man
  10. Arnold Is a Simple Man
  11. Just To Be A Part
  12. Inside the Keeper’s Pantry
  13. Pictures of Adolph
  14. Tell It Like It Is
  15. Release Is in the Eye
  16. Dust Filled Room
  17. I Hear You Calling