Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


Give You The Ghost (rsd 22)

Memphis Industries

Record Store Day 2022 - opaque white lp

Released: 23rd Apr 2022


out of stock

‘Give You The Ghost’ was on of 2012’s standout debut albums, marrying as it did post-rock and R&B to stunning effect, leading Bon Iver’s Justin Vernon to describe them then as “the best band he’d ever heard”.

Give You The Ghost’s influence on sonics and production can still being felt to this day. Lead singer Channy Leaneagh’s delicate yet visceral vocals, occasionally and subtly manipulated by a Helicon 5, formed a sweet harmonic partnership with Chris Bierden’s bass riffs. This, matched with the twin attack of drummers Drew Christopherson and Ben Ivascu and the anti-production techniques of fifth member Ryan Olson, made Poliça a unique proposition, as demonstrated on singles Lay Your Cards Out, Dark Star and Wandering Star. A break out performance at 2012’s SXSW saw them booked for TV slots on Jimmy Fallon and Later with Jools Holland, plus a plethora of festivals including Coachella and Glastonbury. “You could waste days trying to define the genre in which Poliça operate, but actually it’s just pop – Incredibly beautiful – pop” - The Sunday Times “Give You The Ghost makes pop sound emotive and alien, shimmering with spine-tingling yearning” - The Independent “Something special” - The Times "Brilliantly arresting and unique" - The Guardian “Beautifully poignant record” - NME “Truly special” - Evening Standard

Give You The Ghost (rsd 22)

  1. Amongster
  2. I See My Mother
  3. Violent Games
  4. Dark Star
  5. Form
  6. The Maker
  7. Lay Your Cards Out
  8. Fist, Teeth, Money
  9. Happy Be Fine
  10. Wandering Star
  11. Leading to Death