other titles...


American Weekend (2024 Reissue)

limited red lp (USA Import) - £25.99 | Buy
12 years on, this debut from Katie Crutchfield still gives us the same chills that we felt for the first time dropping a stylus into 'Catfish's groove -...

Tigers Blood

lp + poster - £23.99 | Buy
CD - £11.99 | Buy
Katie Crutchfield's journey into the heart of Americana has been a continual pleasure to hear, and here she takes it many steps further with country strings...

Saint Cloud

cd - £11.99 | Buy
Having stripped back the big guitars, well-honed noise, and battering sounds that characterised her previous 2 records, Waxahatchee has gifted us a classic amer...

Out in the Storm

lp + foil stamp + poster + download - £20.99 | Buy
Katie crutchfield’s rise from a diy indie-punk songwriter of rare songwriting-chops, to, well, the same but with people finally paying attention, reaches ...
Cerulean Salt (2023 reissue)
  1. Hollow Bedroom
  2. Dixie Cups And Jars
  3. Lips And Limbs
  4. Blue Part II
  5. Brother Bryan
  6. Coast To Coast
  7. Tangled Envisioning
  8. Misery Over Dispute
  9. Lively
  10. Waiting
  11. Swan Dive
  12. Peace And Quiet
  13. You're Damaged


Cerulean Salt (2023 reissue)

don giovanni
  • CD

    Released: 30th Jun 2023


Crutchfield's songs continue to be marked by her sharp, hooky songwriting; her striking voice and lyrics that simultaneously seem hyperpersonal yet relentlessly relatable, teetering between endearingly nostalgic and depressingly dark.

But whereas before the thematic focus of her songcraft was on break ups and passive-aggressive crushing, this record reflects on her family and Alabama upbringing. Whereas American Weekend was mostly just Crutchfield and her guitar, Cerulean Salt is occasionally amped up, with a full band and higher-fi production. At times, Cerulean Salt creeps closer to the sound of PS Eliot: moody, 90s- inspired rock backed by Keith Spencer and Swearin' guitarist Kyle Gilbride on drums and bass. The full band means fleshed-out fuzzy lead guitars on "Coast to Coast", its poppy hook almost masking its dark lyrics. Big distorted guitars and deep steady drums mark songs like "Misery over Dispute" and "Waiting". There's plenty of American Weekend's introspection and minimalism to be found, though. "Blue Pt. II" is stripped down, Crutchfield and her sister Alison singing in harmony with deadpan vox. She's still an open booking, musing on self-doubt versus self-reliance, transience versus permanence. "Peace and Quiet" ebbs and flows from moody, minimal verses to a sing- song chorus. "Swan Dive" tackles nostalgia, transience, indifference, regret -- over the a minimal strum of an electric-guitar, the picking at a chirpy riff and the double-time tapping of a muted drum. The album closes with a haunting acoustic-guitar reflection on "You're Damaged," possibly the best Waxahatchee song to date.